Live the Life You Love: My Top 5 Travel Experiences

It’s the first day of a brand new year, and I have just one resolution that I’m determined to follow through with: write more often. Last year I fell off the blog-wagon due the fact I wrote so much at work that by the time I got home, fired up the laptop and committed to writing my blog, I was too tired to be bothered. The older I get, the more my dreams and life-long loves start to cement themselves in my head; the more I start to live the life I love. I simply adore writing and live to travel, so it makes sense that I put all my experiences down in one place: rosieroundtheworld – my travel blog.

Travel, for myself and many others, is an absolute addiction. Since the first moment that I jetset off to Thailand when I was 12, I have been completely enthralled by the thrill of travel. This thrill was further enhanced back in 2004 when I first set foot in Europe and again in 2011 when I packed my life into a backpack and embarked on a 11 month stint around the world, from China to Europe, Mexico and then South America.

I thought I would kick off the New Year by staying true to my resolution and writing about the 5 best travel experiences I’ve ever had on the road. It is my dream to one day (in the next 2 years) pack up and become an expat; living in another country, speaking another language and just being completely absorbed by the vibrant life of travel. I’m no longer just coasting through life, I’m finally in control and ready to follow my dreams. These days I have no need to escape from anything, but I have the immense desire to escape to something cultured, something different.

Happy New Year and I hope you enjoy the beginning of my resolution.

1. An Igloo in Ivalo, Finland

DSC07694

One year and one month ago I spent one dreamy mid-winter night in an igloo in Northern Finnland surrounded by reindeer, huskies and snow, snow everywhere. I’ll never forget the feeling of looking through the igloo’s glass roof and admiring the stars. After all, how often do you encounter a glass igloo? Unfortunately, I missed out on the famous aurora borealis (more commonly known as the Northern Lights) but I have no doubt I will return to this part of the world once more to attempt again!

2. Staying Amongst the Clouds in Sapa, Vietnam

Topas Ecolodge

Image something so beautiful that it momentarily robs you of your breath. This is how I felt when I unexpectedly stumbled amongst the clouds at our accommodation approximately 45 minutes outside of Sapa in Northern Vietnam. We were overwhelmed by spectacular 360 degree views of the mountains and surrounding rice terraces.

3. Walking through Central Park for the First Time

central park

As the wheels hit the runway at JFK Airport in New York, New York I couldn’t contain my excitement. I’d arrived in the concrete jungle where dreams were made. That first moment I stumbled across the vast expanse of central park I felt unbelievable excitement.

4. Machu Picchu rising from the Clouds, Peru 

Macchu Pichu

After five days of an intense trek through a vast range of climates and environments, I was overwhelmed by the sight of Machu Picchu, rising from the clouds in Peru. I don’t think I have ever felt such a strong sense of wonder in my entire life.

5. The Antrim Coast, Ireland

Antrim Coast

I left part of my heart in Ireland and I’ve not since got it back. I know I’ll have to return just to experience the craggy mountains, wild rainy days and that pure feeling of being exactly where I belong. I think I must have been Irish in a past life, because seeing the iconic boulders of the Giants Causeway climbing out to sea made me feel as though I was right where I was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

